The Tide Watchers kindle  Paperback read Рhannahredhead

epub Ú The Tide Watchers ï Lisa Chaplin

The Tide WatchersAtcher must gain control of Fulton's invention and cross enemy lines but he cannot do it alone Left with no other options he enlists Lisbeth's help in outwitting the American inventor and uncovering Bonaparte's secret plansGoing undercover for the handsome and duty bound spy Lisbeth risks her freedom and her life as she navigates double agents and submarine warfare to outwit the greatest military tactician in history The only uestion is who can she tru The Tide Watchers is part spy novel part adventure novel part history lesson and a little bit of romance It takes place in England and France during Napoleon’s rise Our hero is in France trying to learn what he can about the soon to be Emperor’s plans and to try and find his employer’s daughter Lisbeth She ran away with a French emigre against the wishes of her parents and he did not turn out to be the romantic man she thought he was so now she finds herself working at a tavern and branded a whore by all in the townDuncan finds Lisbeth and realizes she could be a help on his mission but is a little reluctant to put her in danger Lisbeth is not like any other woman he has ever met; she is intelligent forthright and she speaks her mind She agrees to work with Duncan and then she wants to go homeThe story is a good one and the writing kept me very engaged There is a lot of history to draw from in this time period and Ms Chaplin weaves her fictional players in with historical characters very well I will admit to feeling at times in the beginning like I dropped into the second book of a series but I soon figured out who everyone was I believe the author was trying to slowly release information about her characters but it left me a bit confused at times My biggest complaint and the reason for the 35 rating instead of a 4 is the ending It was obscenely abrupt In fact I wondered if my advance reading copy was missing a chapter it was that jarring an ending I am guessing there will be a seuel – if not so much was left hanging it was really crazy I understand leaving the readers anxious for another book but this was than that – it truly felt like information was missing35

Lisa Chaplin ï The Tide Watchers text

Complicated by the wily Napoleon Bonaparte The British believe he is planning an attack and Duncan is sent to search for signs of invasion on the French coast where he draws dangerously close to adventurous and unpredictable LisbethA sensational new invention may shift the tide of a French victory A brilliant and eccentric American inventor named Robert Fulton has devised a deadly weapon that can decimate an enemy's fleet To protect English ships Tidew Lies are abundant than the truth between France and England in the early 1800’s Napoleon is uietly planning an attack on the British and the British network of spies known as the King’s Men are secretly keeping watch Known as the Tidewatcher British spy Duncan is on a mission not only to watch the French Coastline for signs of invasion but to find and protect his mentor Sir Edward Sunderland’s daughter Elizabeth Lisbeth Delacorte has been dragged through the gutter She eloped with Alain Delacort a Frenchman to defy her father and get out of an arranged marriage to a wealthy Baron only to be abandoned in France and have her son stolen from her Now Lisbeth works in a tavern and is desperately trying to save her son from Alain’s cruelty When Duncan finds Lisbeth he immediately sees her strength as a woman and as a spy Duncan trains Lisbeth for a mission going undercover in American inventor Robert Fulton’s household to gain intelligence of his submersible ship that may hold the key to undoing Napoleon’s plans Lisbeth accomplishes this and but only for Duncan’s promise that he will get her son back to her Historical fiction and with spy tactics made this book intriguing exciting and suspenseful I didn't know a lot about this time in history so the mix of historical figures with fictional characters made this educational for me as well Although for me the fictional characters of Lisbeth and Duncan shone the brightest for me Lisbeth was a truly strong character in her morals character intelligence and physical strength She is put through many trials going from a highborn lady to working in a tavern attempted murders and rape to successfully completing spy missions all for the hope of getting her son back Duncan is a true King's Man trained by the best which makes him an enigma holding many secrets and making it terribly difficult for him to open up to the woman who he loves The missions that Duncan and Lisbeth are sent on are filled with plenty of intrigue and provide many twists and turns I especially liked learning about Robert Fulton and his submarines There was a little romance in here but it was in no way the whole plot just a nice little addition to keep things moving although I do wish it was tied off a little better Overall a uick paced spy filled historical fiction adventureThis book was received for free in return for an honest review

kindle The Tide Watchers

The Tide Watchers kindle  Paperback read Ð hannahredhead ´ In the winter of 1803 one woman stands between Napoleon and the fall of Great BritainThe free spirited daughter of an English baronet Lisbeth defies convention by eloping to France When her husband abandons her she must find a way to survive and be reunIn the winter of 1803 one woman stands between Napoleon and the fall of Great BritainThe free spirited daughter of an English baronet Lisbeth defies convention by eloping to France When her husband abandons her she must find a way to survive and be reunited with her young son who is in the care of her mother in lawA seasoned spy known as Tidewatcher Duncan apprenticed under Lisbeth's father and pledged to keep his mentor's pretty daughter safe a promise The first thing that drew me to this book was that it was about spies during the Napoleonic Wars In the US these wars don't get a lot press in the classroom so to speak Growing up my takeaway was that Napoleon was a little man who wanted to own everything and then he was exiled In fact these wars lasted uite a long time England and France were at war for over 10 years and I am surprised that fiction doesn't dig deeper into the intrigue that was surely going on at this time but The Tide Watchers definitely took that idea and ran with it The French Revolution and all of its terror still reverberated over the politics of France and beyond and I enjoyed the political debates between characters A fictionalized version of Robert Fulton he is known best for inventing the steam engine but he also developed the first submarine and torpedoes was an interesting illustration of the way many people saw France's uest for a republican form of government Just as it is today the country with the best fighting technology wins and Fulton's work and its place in this war was a fascinating aspect of the story While all of the secret planning and spying is going on there is a very emotional plot line involving Lisbeth who I saw as the main character in this story Her strength and intelligence really made the book for me She is desperate to get her baby back from her psychotic husband and what she endures gives the reader a very good idea of how easily a woman could become utterly powerless emotionally and legally in marriage Her singular focus was her son but along the way she ended up making one hell of a spy Duncan's character was also very engaging and I thought it was interesting that echoes of the Jacobite rebellion of 1745 still reverberated in the lives and political influence of some of the spiesThis is a very detail rich book which is something I love in my historical fiction and while there is a fantastic romance between two of the characters I would not call this a romance novel per say The pacing was good because the story is constantly switching back and forth in perspective and location giving me a 360 degree view of how events were unfolding on all sides of the war It combined real historical events with political intrigue and created a fictional but entirely believable story I think that The Tide Watchers is perfect for fans of Outlander Its multiple characters detailed story and engaging romance will appeal to readers who might be looking for a good book during Droughtlander Thankfully The Tide Watchers will have a seuel and I will be first in line to buy it when it's for sale